A collection of grievances, memories, occasional musings, and everyday happenings

Wednesdaynotaworkday

Leave a comment

Well I’m still in bed.

My first day at Ashland Gardens & The Gardens began on Monday, and of course I went back for more on Tuesday.  As Buster Bluth would say: It was a wild, wild ride.

Monday was extremely slow, but that’s a typical first day from what I can gather.  I hung out in the office with my boss and fellow coordinator, wide-eyed and eager to do something… anything…

The people I work with are amazing and hilarious.  I have yet to meet everyone on staff (the caterers, the florists, the cake bakers, the chair slip makers), but I’ve obviously walked into a wonderful Christian family environment and I intend to stay put.

My favorite hobby is to listen.  To eavesdrop.  Whenever the door opens, one of the three of us is supposed to go out and greet the soon-to-be bride and/or groom along with the MOG, the FOG, the MOB, and the FOB, the SOB (siblings), and most usually, the COB (children).  Since I’m brand new, I haven’t really greeted anyone yet, though I did greet the homeless man who wandered into the office asking for a bus pass and money who was then flabbergasted when I told him we are in fact a wedding chapel, not a church.  Apparently this kind of thing happens all the time.  So since I’m not a greeter, I sit by the phone in the office while my boss and co-worker handle the upfront stuff.  And let me tell you, the most interesting of people are months away from getting married.

Speaking of interesting people getting married, my and Will’s wedding invitations have been ordered and will be here in a week.  I don’t know if I’m supposed to reveal what it looks like, but I’m going to anyway so that when you see Kyle Turman, you can tell him that he did an AMAZING job with our invitations.  So look for this in your mailbox:

The front of our Passport invite is a reflection of some of the countries that mean something significant to us.  For example, we met then flirted in Ghana our first year, then in Ghana our second year, Will told me he wanted to marry me.  Ireland is where I fell horribly ill due to a viral infection from Ghana, and Will took care of me.  We’ve both gone to the top of the Eiffel Tower, and we’ve been to London 5 or 6 times, obviously obsessed with anything about The Beatles (Abbey Road).  He’s been to Japan, I haven’t, but we both love the culture and have some very good friends there who we hope to visit someday.  Will’s heritage is Dutch (Amsterdam) and I’m part German.

Enjoy your Workday Wednesday, and I’ll enjoy my Wednesday Not-a-Workday.  Both my employment agreement and my wedding to-do list inform me that I must keep my nails looking nice at all times, so I think I will follow that order this afternoon.

Cheerio!

Author: Holly

Vienna-based American wife/mom/expat.

Leave a Reply

